Large Language Models

Claude Sonnet 5

Anthropic's most agentic Sonnet yet — near-Opus quality for coding, agents and knowledge work at $2/$10 introductory pricing, and the new default model on claude.ai.

Claude Sonnet 5 is Anthropic’s June 30, 2026 successor to Sonnet 4.6 — and the company’s clearest statement yet that agentic capability is moving down-market. The pitch: planning, tool use and autonomous multi-step work “at a level that, just a few months ago, required larger and more expensive models,” priced at $2 / $10 per 1M tokens through August 31 (then $3 / $15, exactly what Sonnet 4.6 charged).

The launch framing is cost, not a new capability ceiling. At the introductory rate Sonnet 5 undercuts GPT-5.5 ($5/$30), Gemini 3.1 Pro (~$2/$12) and Anthropic’s own Opus 4.8 ($5/$25) — while landing close to Opus on quality. It even beats Opus 4.8 on Anthropic’s knowledge-work benchmark. There is one important catch, flagged by independent testing: Sonnet 5 works much harder per task, so per-task cost at standard pricing can actually exceed Opus 4.8. More on that below.

Editorial illustration: a compact glowing amber sphere drives a ring of tools — browser, terminal, document, gear — while a much larger, dimmer sphere with a price tag sits idle, symbolizing a mid-tier model doing flagship-priced work.

Benchmarks

Anthropic’s launch table compares Sonnet 5 against Sonnet 4.6 and Opus 4.8. Numbers are Anthropic-reported as of June 30, 2026; treat them as a dated snapshot.

BenchmarkWhat it measuresSonnet 5Sonnet 4.6Opus 4.8
SWE-bench ProHardest, leakage-controlled coding63.2%58.1%69.2%
Terminal-Bench 2.1Terminal / CLI agent tasks80.4%67.0%not reported
OSWorld-VerifiedComputer use (desktop control)81.2%78.5%not reported
Humanity’s Last Exam (with tools)Hard expert questions57.4%46.8%57.9%
GDPval-AA v2Knowledge work (Elo)1,618not reported1,615

Three results stand out:

  • Terminal-Bench 2.1 jumps 13.4 points over Sonnet 4.6 — the clearest signal of better real-world agent behavior in terminals and CLIs.
  • Humanity’s Last Exam (with tools) lands within half a point of Opus 4.8 (57.4% vs 57.9%), up from a 11-point gap for Sonnet 4.6.
  • GDPval-AA v2 actually edges Opus 4.8 (1,618 vs 1,615). Note the v2: Anthropic updated the grader for this run, so these Elo figures are not comparable to the v1 numbers (e.g. Opus 4.8’s 1,890) quoted elsewhere on this site.

The one place Opus 4.8 keeps a clear lead is SWE-bench Pro (69.2% vs 63.2%). For the hardest, longest-horizon coding, Opus remains the stronger pick.

Agentic coding — SWE-bench Pro (%)
Claude Opus 4.869.2%Claude Sonnet 563.2%Claude Sonnet 4.658.1%GPT-5.558.6%
AnthropicOpenAI
Sonnet 5 clears GPT-5.5 on the hardest coding split but stays ~6 points behind Opus 4.8.
Source: Anthropic (June 30, 2026) and vendor-reported figures compiled by Heyaiwiki.

The independent read: Artificial Analysis

Anthropic’s numbers are its own, so the most useful outside signal comes from Artificial Analysis, which evaluated Sonnet 5 ahead of release:

  • Intelligence Index: 53 at max effort — the #5 model overall, a 6-point gain over Sonnet 4.6, level with GPT-5.5 at high reasoning, and 2–3 points behind GPT-5.5 (xhigh) and Opus 4.8 (max).
  • Cost per task: $2.29 on the Index at standard $3/$15 pricing — roughly double Sonnet 4.6 and ~15% more than Opus 4.8. The driver is token usage, not price: at max effort Sonnet 5 used ~40% more output tokens per task than Sonnet 4.6 and about 3× the agentic turns on knowledge-work benchmarks.
  • Effort scales sharply: max effort used ~6× more turns than low effort on GDPval-AA. The effort dial, not the rate card, is what controls your bill.
  • Where it punches above its tier: on AA-Briefcase and GDPval-AA (agentic knowledge work), Sonnet 5 sits just ahead of Opus 4.8 and trails only Claude Fable 5.
  • Where it doesn’t: on the CritPt frontier-physics benchmark it scores 17% — 14 points above Sonnet 4.6, but behind GLM-5.2, Opus, Fable and GPT-5.5 at xhigh.

So the honest cost summary: cheaper than Opus holds during the promo window and at lower effort settings. At standard pricing and max effort, Sonnet 5 can cost more per task than Opus 4.8 while delivering slightly less intelligence. Price it per task, not per token.

Pricing

PhaseInput / 1MOutput / 1MNotes
Introductory (through Aug 31, 2026)$2.00$10.00Cheapest capable agent model at launch
Standard (from Sep 1, 2026)$3.00$15.00Identical to Sonnet 4.6’s rate card
Cache write$3.7525% premium, 5-minute TTL
Cache read$0.3090% discount

Two cost caveats worth planning around:

  • The tokenizer changed. Sonnet 5’s updated tokenizer maps the same text to roughly 1.0–1.35× more tokens (code and non-English text at the high end) — similar to the change Opus 4.7 introduced. Anthropic says intro pricing was set so the migration is roughly cost-neutral; re-baseline on representative prompts before assuming the per-token discount reaches your bill.
  • Token usage is the real variable. As the Artificial Analysis data shows, high effort settings multiply turns and output tokens. For high-volume deployments, set effort explicitly per workload.

Thinking and effort

Adaptive thinking is always on — the model decides how much to reason based on task difficulty. Effort defaults to high on the API and in Claude Code. Sonnet 5 adds an xhigh setting Sonnet 4.6 lacked, giving it the same five levels as Opus 4.8: max, xhigh, high, medium, low.

This is the same reasoning approach as the Opus tier, and it’s a big part of why Sonnet 5 closes so much of the agentic gap: it can plan a multi-step job, call a tool, read the result and correct course without a human nudging each step. It’s also why costs scale so steeply with effort — max effort spends several times more agentic turns than low on the same task.

Built for agents

The launch’s clearest theme: Sonnet 5 is designed to run agents, not just answer questions. The big gains (Terminal-Bench, OSWorld) are agent benchmarks, and partner feedback centered on follow-through:

  • Zapier reported that multi-step automations that “used to stall halfway” now complete end to end — “for day-to-day automation, it’s a no-brainer.”
  • Lovable emphasized refusal quality: “a model that knows when to say no is just as important as one that knows how to build.”
  • ClickHouse highlighted tighter reasoning steps and faster time-to-insight on live-data agents; Eve (legal) called it Pareto-optimal on plaintiff-law tasks; Pace runs insurance back-office workflows on it.

For teams already routing to Opus 4.8 for agent work, the practical pattern is: run the fleet on Sonnet 5, escalate only the hardest coding steps to Opus.

Safety

Anthropic reports Sonnet 5 is safer than Sonnet 4.6 across its pre-deployment suite: lower rates of misaligned behavior, less cooperation with misuse, less deception, fewer hallucinations, and better refusal of malicious requests — plus stronger resistance to prompt-injection hijacks in agentic settings (though its automated-audit misalignment rate remains above Opus 4.8’s).

One deliberate design choice stands out: Sonnet 5 was not trained for offensive cybersecurity. On exploit-development evaluations (e.g. building working Firefox exploits) it scored 0% full success — far below Opus 4.8 and Mythos 5. Anthropic frames this as a safety property for a model deployed at massive scale, and ships it with cyber safeguards enabled by default (the same tier as Opus 4.7/4.8, less strict than Fable 5’s). If you do defensive security work that needs fewer guardrails, Anthropic points you to Opus 4.8 and its Cyber Verification Program.

Availability

Shipped broadly on day one (June 30, 2026):

SurfaceStatus
claude.aiNew default for Free and Pro; available on Max, Team, Enterprise
Claude CodeLive at launch
Claude API / Platformclaude-sonnet-5
Third-party toolsCursor, VS Code, GitHub Copilot at launch

Making it the Free-tier default puts an agent-capable model in front of Anthropic’s entire consumer base immediately — and Anthropic raised rate limits across Chat, Cowork, Claude Code and the Platform to absorb the higher token usage of high effort levels.

How Claude Sonnet 5 compares

Claude Sonnet 5GPT-5.5Gemini 3.1 Pro
Price (in / out, per 1M)$2 / $10 intro · $3 / $15 std$5 / $30~$2 / $12
Context1M400K–1M1M
SWE-bench Pro63.2%58.6%54.2%
Terminal-Bench 2.180.4%83.4% (Codex CLI harness)70.7%
Input modalitiestext, imagetext, image, audio, videotext, image, audio, video
  • vs GPT-5.5: Sonnet 5 takes SWE-bench Pro; GPT-5.5 takes Terminal-Bench (on its own harness) and accepts audio/video. Sonnet 5 is far cheaper per token.
  • vs Gemini 3.1 Pro: near-identical pricing at Sonnet 5’s intro rate; Gemini is natively omnimodal, Sonnet 5 leads the agentic coding benchmarks.
  • vs Opus 4.8: the six-point SWE-bench Pro gap is now the main thing the Opus premium buys. On knowledge work they’re tied.

No flagship wins every category — what separates Sonnet 5 is Opus-adjacent quality at the lowest sticker price in the Claude ecosystem.

The Claude lineup (July 2026)

ModelAPI IDIn / Out (per 1M)ContextPosition
Fable 5 (Mythos-class)claude-fable-5$10 / $501MCapability ceiling
Opus 5claude-opus-5$5 / $251MFrontier flagship — best price/performance
Sonnet 5claude-sonnet-5$2 / $10 intro1MEveryday agentic workhorse
Haiku 4.5claude-haiku-4-5$1 / $5200KFastest, cheapest

Sonnet 5 replaces Sonnet 4.6 outright — better on every published benchmark, at the same standard price. The question it forces is no longer “can a mid-tier model run agents?” but “which steps still justify Opus 5 or Fable pricing?”

Best for

  • High-volume agent deployments where Opus pricing doesn't scale
  • Day-to-day coding, terminal and browser automation
  • Agentic knowledge work — document analysis, research, professional outputs

Pros & cons

Strengths

  • Near-Opus agentic performance — matches Opus 4.8 on knowledge work (GDPval-AA v2 1,618 vs 1,615)
  • Terminal-Bench 2.1 jumps 13+ points over Sonnet 4.6 (80.4% vs 67.0%)
  • Cheapest capable agent model during the intro window — undercuts GPT-5.5, Gemini 3.1 Pro and Opus 4.8
  • Five effort levels (adds xhigh) let you dial cost vs intelligence per task

Limitations

  • Uses far more tokens per task than Sonnet 4.6 — per-task cost can exceed Opus 4.8 at standard pricing (Artificial Analysis)
  • New tokenizer inflates token counts ~1.0–1.35× on the same text
  • Trails Opus 4.8 by ~6 points on the hardest coding split (SWE-bench Pro)
  • Deliberately weak at offensive cyber work — by design, not a bug

Frequently asked questions

When was Claude Sonnet 5 released?

Anthropic released Claude Sonnet 5 on June 30, 2026, as the successor to Sonnet 4.6. It shipped everywhere on day one — claude.ai (as the new default for Free and Pro users), Claude Code, the Claude API, and third-party tools including Cursor, VS Code and GitHub Copilot.

How much does Claude Sonnet 5 cost?

Introductory pricing through August 31, 2026 is $2 per 1M input tokens and $10 per 1M output tokens. From September 1 it moves to the standard $3 / $15 — the same rate card Sonnet 4.6 charged. Cache writes are $3.75 / 1M and cache reads $0.30 / 1M.

Is Claude Sonnet 5 better than Opus 4.8?

It depends on the task. Sonnet 5 edges Opus 4.8 on knowledge work (GDPval-AA v2 1,618 vs 1,615) and lands within half a point on reasoning with tools, but trails by ~6 points on SWE-bench Pro, the hardest agentic coding split. For most production work the quality gap is small enough that price decides.

Is Claude Sonnet 5 really cheaper than Opus 4.8?

Per token, yes — but not always per task. Artificial Analysis measured Sonnet 5 at $2.29 per task on its Intelligence Index at standard pricing, about 15% more than Opus 4.8, because Sonnet 5 spends ~40% more output tokens and roughly 3× the agentic turns at max effort. Dial the effort level down (or use the intro pricing) and the math flips back.

What is the new tokenizer in Claude Sonnet 5?

Sonnet 5 uses an updated tokenizer (similar to the change Opus 4.7 introduced) that maps the same text to roughly 1.0–1.35× more tokens, with code and non-English text at the high end. Anthropic says the intro pricing is set so migration from Sonnet 4.6 is roughly cost-neutral; re-baseline real workloads before assuming savings.

What is the Claude Sonnet 5 API model ID?

Use `claude-sonnet-5` on the Claude API. The model has a 1M-token context window, and adaptive thinking is always on with effort defaulting to high on the API and in Claude Code.

Sources

Last updated: 2026-07-02 · Specs and pricing change fast — verify on the vendor's site before relying on them.